2011 Live Radio Show
  CANTERVILLE GHOST - Directed by Frankie Kelly
SAM SPADE - Directed by Lawrence Nepodahl
Saturday, April 30, 2011 at 7:30 pm
at Stage Coach Players Theater in DeKalb

Stage Coach will be continuing its live broadcast on WLBK this Spring. Admission is FREE.

Oscar Wilde's classic tale, THE CANTERVILLE GHOST

Authorities on the subject of phantoms declare that the most fearsome ghost in all the British Isles is that of a somewhat overweight nobleman named Sir Simon de Canterville. Haunting Canterville Castle for 360 years, this portly apparition has been unique for it's keen sense of showmanship and it's spectacular variety of tricks, shapes and sound effects. The ghost originated in 1634 when Sir Simon was scheduled to fight a duel. He took one look at his fierce and towering opponent and ran away from the field of honor in a startling display of speed and cowardice. He was chased to his father's estate by his frustrated opponent, Sir Valentine Williams.

The Adventures of SAM SPADE

The Adventures of Sam Spade was a radio series based loosely on the private detective character Sam Spade, created by writer Dashiell Hammett for The Maltese Falcon. The show ran for 13 episodes on ABC in 1946, for 157 episodes on CBS in 1946-1949, and finally for 51 episodes on NBC in 1949-1951. The series starred Howard Duff (and later, Steve Dunne) as Sam Spade and Lurene Tuttle as his secretary Effie, and took a considerably more tongue-in-cheek approach to the character than the novel or movie. The series was largely overseen by producer/director William Spier. In 1947, scriptwriters Jason James and Bob Tallman received an Edgar Award for Best Radio Drama from the Mystery Writers of America. Before the series, Sam Spade had been played in radio adaptations of The Maltese Falcon by both Edward G. Robinson (in a 1943 Lux Radio Theater production) and by Bogart himself (in a 1946 Academy Award Theater production), both on CBS.


Cast Members

Barb Andree; John Davis; Allison Duffin; Carol Lee Duffin; Mark Mackeben;
Geoff Maxfield; Michele McClane; Lawrence Nepodahl; Stewart Ogilvie; Mandy Paschen;
Norm Read; Heather VanDenBurg; Bob White

Crew Members